Starting over… Again.

Posted: April 21, 2015 in Blogging, Hobbies, Travel, Work

I guess it’s once again time to start this blog thing over again. I note that it’s been a bit over three years since I published anything here, and that is in no small part due to working at the lab, and also immersing myself once again in the SCA.

So a brief recap of what’s happened in my scientific life over the last three years:

  1. Published a few scientific papers (you can find them here).
  2. Increased my h-index to four.
  3. Finished my postdoc and left Los Alamos.

And a brief recap of my SCA and personal life:

  1. SCA:
    • Won Princess Protector in the Outlands (three times).
    • Won Protector of the Queen’s Heart in the Outlands.
    • Was made a Baron of the Court of the Outlands.
    • Gave up rapier combat to focus on armored combat.
    • Changed my name and device in the SCA.
    • Started actively studying Norse culture (specifically 9th century Danish culture).
  2. Personal:
    • Spent numerous weekends in Texas helping my aging parents.
    • Began and ended a disastrous relationship.
    • Moved to a riverside cottage in Abiquiu, NM and acquired a fish.
    • Met and started dating someone much more awesome.
    • Rekindled my love of Hiking, Photography, and Poetry.
    • Made new friends, and lost some old ones.

Life is, as they say, in progress.

I’m currently enjoying the life of a retired gentleman of leisure, though I am actively seeking gainful employment (So if you need a theoretical physicist, talk to me. I love to do science). I’m spending quite a bit of time traveling, focusing on doing the things that make me happy. Right now, that consists of hiking, fighting, laughing, and trying to excise as much stress from my life as possible.

Really.

There’s been yoga and everything.

But I guess the thing that sticks out the most is how little I’ve been doing with this site. And it’s time for that to change.

Leave a Reply

