Onward and Upward…

Posted: January 21, 2012 in General
Tags: ,

For those of you who haven’t been informed, I suppose I should post it here. As of January 30, I will be taking a new job as a postdoctoral researcher at the Los Alamos National Laboratory. My work will be in the Theoretical Division, under the supervision of Richard Martin, studying the electronic structure of actinide and lanthanide oxides, nitrides and carbides. In addition, I’ll be looking at metal insulator transitions and other phenomena in strongly correlated materials.

This is a very positive career move for me, and I’m very excited about it. I’ve moved to Santa Fe, New Mexico, and am looking forward to doing the big science with some of the top people in the world (Rich, my boss, was just named a Laboratory Fellow and the rest of the people in the group are pretty damn awesome as well). Also, I’m sure that I’m going to enjoy hiking in the mountains around Sante Fe and Los Alamos, and enjoying time in the desert southwest (I can certainly say that the airs is orders of magnitude better than in Houston).

Once I’m finished moving and setteled, I intend to go back to regularly updating this blog. As to what you can look forward to seeing from me, I don’t really know. The direction this space takes in the future is going to be sort of free form and I’m going to be spending a bit of time sorting out what exactly I want it to be over the next few weeks. But the important part is that I am going to refocus on writing here regularly, so look forward to that.

 

 

Leave a Reply

