So I joined a cult…

Posted: June 28, 2011 in General
Tags: , ,

I have officially joined the P3 Crossfit Gym in Houston. Now some people say this crossfit stuff is a cult. And they may be right about that. There’s a bit of over-the-topness to it, but I’ve been looking around for something to get me into significantly better shape. I think that this is the thing that will work for me.

 

Some people run long distances… I don’t have any desire to do that. Many of you know that my partner has run a couple of half as well as a couple of full marathons. That stuff isn’t for me.

Those of you who do know me know that I’ve been fencing for almost twenty years. I’m a member of the USFA and though my competition rating expires this December, I’ve fenced quite successfully in modern foil, epee and saber competitions (The reason my rating is expiring is because I haven’t competed recently, and won’t be in the near future). The beauty of fencing is that it demands a quick mind, excellent muscle memory, speed, strength, and agility. It demands all of these things in short intense bursts, punctuated by periods of rest.

One problem is that I’ve always been pretty scrawny and weak. This has hampered my study of a number of different styles of sword work. Now that I’m getting older, it’s becoming more of a priority for me to (re)take them up and master them, and that’s going to require me to be quite a bit stronger than I am now.

After a lot of looking around, I think that Crossfit is the thing that’s going to get me where I want to be in terms of physical strength and overall fitness. So far I’ve got two workouts under my belt, and I think I’m definitely hooked.

 

Leave a Reply

