There once was a pile of #FAIL…

Posted: June 14, 2011 in General
Tags: , ,

At the beginning of the day, this post is a mea culpa. I’ve dropped off the face of the earth so to speak. My creativity project has fallen into disrepair, and I’ve not posted anything new in a very long time. This is no one’s fault but my own. My meager attempt at an explanation is below the fold…

 

My partner has been in Los Angeles since March, at an almost four month long workshop on biophysics and applied math. She’s been having a blast, forming collaborations, hiking, biking, rock climbing, and doing all the science she possibly can in the short amount of time she has there. And the time is short: three months and change is not very long, but I’ve missed her terribly.

The creativity project was going well after she left, and when I went to L. A. to see her for our eight year anniversary, I was pretty much on schedule. However, while I was there, I stopped updating. This is bad, especially since we went camped at Joshua Tree National Park, and I took a whole bunch of pictures there. They’re going in my creativity project, but I haven’t gotten around to sorting through them yet.

When I got back, work hit me full in the face. However, it’s been very productive. Since April, three papers have been submitted for publication with my name on them. I’m even the first author on one of them. Once they have cleared the peer review process, I’ll make sure to post links to them here as well as at my creativity project. But that’s basically where all of my creative energy has been going for the past couple of months.

So that’s why I haven’t been updating my blog, Tumblr, Twitter, Posterous or any of my other online presences with much more than cursory stuff. Twitter has gotten the most of my attention, as it’s slowly replacing my news sources. It really is keeping me up to date on the world (follow great people – that’s the key). This blog has fallen by the wayside, and I need to pick it back up again. It’s my sincere intention to make serious strides in that direction this summer, as well as tending my other creative outlets.

Physically, I’ve gotten back to fencing semi-regularly. Most of the rust has been knocked off, and I’m fighting at a level where I’m comfortable. I saw myself on video for the first time and boy do I have a lot of work to do! It’s good work, and it has the side benefit of getting this old creaky body back into shape. I’ve been maintaining my weight, and my arthritis isn’t too bad most days, which, if you ask me, is enough to keep me happy.

Anyway, my partner comes home this Saturday. I’m really looking forward to seeing her. Even though I’ve missed her terribly, I’ve been really happy for her. This workshop has been very important to her career, and I’m super proud of her. She reminds me that I need to step up and do cool stuff too.

Once she gets back, she’s got me talked into trying out Cross-fit and the rock climbing gym (she picked rock climbing up in L. A.). I’m scared of the rock climbing because of the arthritis in my hands, but I’m going into it with an open mind. The Cross-fit, however, is something that I’ve been looking at with a little more enthusiasm. I’ve been looking for something to get me back into shape to take up armored combat again (of course, I need to get my armor repaired and upgraded as well), and I think that this Cross-fit thing just might be the ticket. I’m at least looking forward to trying it out.

So that’s my litany of excuses: I miss my partner, I’ve been working like a mad scientist, I have been working out a bunch, and I’ve been slacking at putting things online. I’ve been doing creative things; I just haven’t been publishing them. I suppose it is time to get my butt back in gear.

Leave a Reply

