Creativity?

Posted: January 31, 2011 in Blogging
Tags: , ,

We made it to the end of January, and I’ve successfully posted at least one creative thing every day so far. Looking at the traffic numbers on my Posterous site, it seems as though on average between 100 and 200 unique visitors have visited each post on that site. I’m impressed by that. Thanks to all of you who have been going there and looking at things I’m proud of doing.

I don’t use google analytics, so I don’t know where the traffic is coming from. If I were a better person, I’d probably care more, but I never claimed to be a better person. I’m going to speculate that a lot of that traffic comes silently from facebook. My Posterous account autoposts to both Twitter and Facebook. This blog autoposts to Twitter. The traffic numbers for this blog are WAY smaller than for my Posterous site. Come to think of it, they’re much smaller than for my Tumblr site as well (and that site doesn’t autopost anywhere). I wonder why that is?

I’m going with the idea that you (my dear readers) would rather see pretty pictures and concise poetry, rather than listen to me ramble at length about whatever strikes my fancy. I suppose that’s fair enough, but don’t think it’s going to stop me from posting here. I should probably autopost these to my Facebook, but I’m kind of happy keeping the community here a bit smaller for right now. The people who read this blog tend to comment and interact with me more than the folks who peruse my Tumblr or Posterous. However, it you want to head over there and comment, I’ll really appreciate the feedback.

We’re going to start on month two (aka February). This month there will be more poetry, and I’m going to be digging through (virtual) piles of old photographs and cleaning them up and making them presentable. I’m taking this project as an excuse to go through and do all the organization and post-processing of my photos that I’ve been putting off for years. Also, I’m using it as an excuse to go through old poetry and clean it up and make it presentable. I’m even posting recipes from time to time (with pictures).

So, seriously, if you have a few minutes–head over to my Posterous site and check out the stuff. Look around, and tell me what you think. Constructive (and creative) criticism is certainly welcome.

Leave a Reply

