End of the Year Roundup

Posted: December 31, 2010 in Blogging
Tags: , ,

So it looks like we’ve made it to the end of 2010. Well done. Congratulations. Also, I’ve turned 35, which seems totally weird to me. I’m not old enough to be 35. I don’t even have a lawn to shoo kids away from.

Year end revelations and New Year’s Resolutions are below the fold.

 

The end of this year has been a blur, and I’m totally behind on things outside of work (I’m probably behind there too, but I’m going to blissfully imagine that I’m not. Feel free to encourage my delusions.) Consequently, I’m going to see about putting out more than a couple of posts today in an effort to clear up the backlog.

This year was a good year for this blog. Over the course of the year, I struggled to find a real voice, and I’m still struggling with that. I know, it takes a lifetime to develop your voice, but I’ve enjoyed figuring out what it is.

In other news. I’ve decided how I’m going to use both Tumblr and Posterous. Tumblr is going to be short form blogging. I’m going to keep my long form blogging here at WordPress, and Posterous is going to be a showcase for things I’ve created. This will be in the form of poetry, photographs, papers, other art… anything that I have personally created.

Which brings me to the time for New Year’s Resolutions:

  1. Create something everyday. This is a 365 day experiment, for which Posterous will serve as a venue. I fully admit to stealing the idea from Wil Wheaton. Now I’m going to admit right now that I’m going to be cheating slightly. I plan to polish and edit some old poems and put them out into the world; I’ll be pouring through old photographs and posting them in galleries. Part of the point of this exercise is to FORCE me to do something with old work that’s sitting around gathering dust.
  2. Be at work every day by 8AM. This too, is another experiment. There is not a set time for me to be at work, or to go home. Just that I get everything done. It’s a sweet setup, and I really enjoy the freedom. I’m going to use that freedom to design a schedule that will make me a successful independent scientist.
  3. Publish my work. One of my biggest flaws is that I don’t publish the projects I undertake, both personally and professionally. I finish them; I just never do the last bit of work to share them with the rest of the world, either personally or professionally. I want to have this be the year that I really get myself on the publishing bandwagon. I’ve always had an irrational fear of releasing my work and taking credit for it. This is the year that I get over that fear.

These are three things which I know that I can do and will make me a much more creative, productive and successful scientist, as well as a better human being. After all, one of the drives of being human is to make something where nothing was before.

 

Leave a Reply

