Adventuring…

Posted: August 1, 2010 in Hiking, Photography
Tags: ,

in which much is dicussed. Including (but not limited to) corpse flowers, hiking, photography, and alligators.

Did I mention the alligators?

So we did go to see Lois the Corpse Flower, and here is the picture I promised. That’s me, standing next to her, in all her funky goodness. Note the stink-o-meter in the background. It’s up around the border between 7 and 8, which was just shy of her peak bloom stinkiness.

We went in around 4:30 in the morning to see her, and it was well worth it. She was just a couple of hours before peak ripeness, but there weren’t terrible lines, and we weren’t rushed as we enjoyed her. Boy did she stink. Of course, my partner didn’t seem to think so, she said it smelled vaguely like fermenting cabbage, and just made her hungry. I think she may have wanted to eat Lois. Vegans… what are you gonna do?

Anywho, as most of you know, I do spend an unreasonable amount of time taking photographs when my partner and I go hiking. She’s in much better shape than me, and can walk a long way really fast (did I mention she also runs marathons?) You see what I’m up against. So part of my sneaky out of shape slacker plan is to slow down and take pictures of stuff. Sometimes I manage to take some good ones. Most of the time, the photos are pretty much crap, and get left on the cutting room floor.

I often wish I had more time to go through all the photos I take so that I can get them put up and presented nicely. As some of you know I do keep a gallery here (which of course hasn’t been updated in a long time), as well as a Flickr stream, and a set of Picasa Web Albums. I haven’t paid for a pro account on Flickr, or added a lot of space to my Picasa space, for a variety of reasons. It boils down, basically, to the fact that I’m really frakking busy, and don’t have the time to devote to these things that I should. I guess this rant is more to remind me that I need to actually sit down and spend some time nurturing these different sites so that they are more useful and actually do a decent job of showcasing my photos. Believe it or not, there are some of them that are actually decent. Anyway, enough of this, on to the alligators!

We took a short hike this morning (just a couple of miles) and I brought along my Sigma 70/300 lens, and managed to get some really nice pictures of alligators:

That’s a big frakking alligator. He was walking across the path we were walking on in Brazos Bend State Park. I also took pictures of turtles:

And did I mention the alligators? There were some alligators:

Also, some spiders. Really big spiders. The guy in front is about as big as my hand when his legs are fully stretched out. The area we were hiking in was literally covered in webs with these spiders sitting in them, waiting on dinner.

Also, there was an absolutely amazing number of birds that were just hanging out. I’m not a birder, but I am blissfully happy to take pictures of them. Here’s a couple of the better pictures:

If any of you guys happen to know what they are, please feel free to let me know in the comments. Eventually all of these are going to end up in a real gallery (in one of my photo spaces), but for now, at least they’re up and all of you can see them. With that, I think I’ll leave you with some baby alligators:

[EDIT]: Apparently, I was supposed to include this picture as well. Someone living at my house told me that she really liked it:

So now you get even more alligator goodness!


Leave a Reply

