Sunday Evening Wrap-Up

Posted: May 16, 2010 in Food, General

Welcome to my Sunday evening wrap-up. It’s been a long week, and next week isn’t going to be much better. Our collaborator arrives from Spain to spend a week with us here in the great state of Texas. We’re going to spend it doing a whole bunch of science.

I get to start the week by giving an updated version of the group meeting I gave a week ago Friday. Which means that I spent the last week working my butt off getting ready for this. I spent today working – yes, working – on modifying my presentation from last week. It was a gorgeous Sunday, but I didn’t get to spend any of it outside. I even went in to the office.

On the plus side, today was Sunday dinner. We had jerk tofu on wild rice with a mint cabbage salad. My partner is the best ever, because she went out and got all the stuff while I was busy at work. Cooking was good times: the tofu was fried with spices and plated over rice with artistically placed cabbage salad around the edges. Jamie Oliver would have been proud – we plated with pride!

This week we also went to a wine class at COVA, which is a nice restaurant/wine bar/wine store on Kirby just a few blocks from our house. It was a great time. The guy who gave the class is named Monsterville Horton IV. No shit. Monsterville. Horton. The FOURTH. I don’t really know what else to say about that. Anyway, the class was great. The class was on Zinfindels (real ones, not White Zins) and it was amazing. We got to try nine different wines, with three course for dinner. There was a lot of discussion, and the food was amazing.

As some of you may know, my partner is Vegan (and gluten sensitive!), which did stress me out a bit about going to this class. Turns out there was nothing to fear. The chef prepared outstanding stuff for her which complimented the wines as well (if not better) than the meat dishes he prepared for the rest of us. We had duck breast for the first course, texas quail for the second and braised beef short ribs for the third. The food was to die for, and the wines ranged from good to outstanding. I didn’t personally rate anything below 85 points. I did give one wine a 93 (it blew me away there were hints of violets and pine nuts – AMAZING), but most were in the 87-89 range. All in all, it was a great date night, and I’m looking forward to doing it again in the future.

What else? Not alot this week. I think that this may be a short blog – that’s what happens when the big science is kicking me in the teeth. I doubt next week will be much better, as I’m going to be working with our collaborator all week. I’ll fall back on the picture though, they’re worth at least 250 words a piece.


Leave a Reply

