And Now for Something Completely Different…

Posted: July 17, 2010 in Movies, Science
Tags: ,

So this episode of your friendly neighborhood weblog is going to be devoted to a hodgepodge of stuff. Movies, Flowers, mythical creatures, and the usual political rant or two.

As usual, the good stuff is below the fold.

Summer movie season is here; I’ve not seen too many things though. My partner is not a big fan of movies, and I don’t really have anyone else to go to the theatre with, so I don’t bother very often. Sometimes I do pester her into coming with me, but for the most part, I figure that watching movies at home is a better idea. We have a projector which hooks up to any laptop, so we get DVD movies on the wall over our fireplace. It works out to be about 6’x8′ on the wall, and we have the sound running through some nice speakers. The whole setup was much cheaper than any flatscreen that you can buy, and they aren’t nearly that big.

But still… it’s movie season, and I’m interested to see Inception. It looks pretty neat, and Leonardo DiCaprio has been getting much better as he ages. It doesn’t hurt that Ellen Page is in it too. However, I’m torn. First, I read Al Gore’s review. Now I’m a fan of Al, don’t get me wrong, but really. This kind of self serving review didn’t really make me want to go see the film. Then I read Dave Winer’s review and now I’m really not sure that I want to waste the money. If any of you have seen it, let me know in the comments. I’m thinking that this one may be a wait for the home theatre flick.

That said. I’m all about the bad movies, as my bff Angela knows all too well. I still haven’t forgiven her for drugging me and making me sit through Spice World. There’s bad movies, but that was the closest thing to torture I’ve ever sat through. And I’ve sat through Urotsukidoji. Twice. So when I tell you that I’m really looking forward to the release of Sharktopus, know that I’m not kidding. Go there. Watch the trailer; I’ll wait. If there was ever a justification for having cable (which I don’t have) this is it.

In other news, many of you are aware of my fondness for flowers. The Cthulu Orchid I linked to above is pretty damn awesome. If the Cthulu Flower wasn’t enough for you, you can enjoy your coffee in a R’lyeh cool mug. That flower is pretty damn cool; however, it’s a tiny wonder in comparison to the Corpse Flower. The Houston Museum of Natural Science has one. It’s getting ready to open. You can watch here. I’m really excited, and Mary and I are totally going to go see it. It should open any day now, and will bloom for 8-12 hours or so. It’s a rare opportunity to see one of the largest flowers in the world. Also they tell me it stinks. I’ll bring back pictures, don’t worry.

In other news… the Catholic Church has really gone off the deep end. Apparently ordaining women as priests falls in the same category of crime as raping children.

Also, FOX is no longer just a propaganda machine, but is now also a fundraising machine for teabaggers. I think that it’s nice that the candidates are finally coming out and admitting it. It makes a complete mockery of the concept of the fourth estate, but hey. FOXNews has never been a real news channel anyway.

We’re definitely living in the future when you can buy electronic drugs online. I can’t wait to see what the kids are going to be doing in twenty years. The real question is how long is it going to take some stupid parent who can’t be bothered to take care of their children to advocate for banning this stuff. Next thing you know they’ll be holding congressional hearings on banning music. Oh right. They already did that. What a fucking tragedy that was. Dee Snider summed it up best:

The beauty of literature, poetry, and music is that they leave room for the audience to put its own imagination, experiences, and dreams into the words.

(emphasis mine)

Finally, Texas is being overrun with chupacabras. I think it’s just a severe outbreak of mange, but that’s the scientist in me. I’ll wait for the DNA tests.

I think that’s everything. I’m going to try not to get eaten by the mangy beasts running around. Oh right. I almost forgot. They still haven’t posted an MSDS on our beaches yet. I’m sure it’s just a matter of time.

Have a nice day.


Leave a Reply

